Fitness, Yoga

Let Your Inner Light Shine

Yoga teacher training is an incredible experience! Yoga is so much more than the physical movement, and it’s been exciting learning about the eightfold path of yoga and how to extend my yoga practice off the mat.

I find the below definition of the eightfold path from Yoga Journal to be insightful:

“In Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra, the eightfold path is called ashtanga, which literally means “eight limbs” (ashta=eight, anga=limb). These eight steps basically act as guidelines on how to live a meaningful and purposeful life. They serve as a prescription for moral and ethical conduct and self-discipline; they direct attention toward one’s health; and they help us to acknowledge the spiritual aspects of our nature.”
Yoga Journal

This week in teacher training we studied the yamas and niyamas, the first and second limbs of yoga. Yamas are external and focus on how we conduct ourselves within the world. Niyamas focus on self-discipline and are inwardly focused. I feel the below quote really sums up this week’s lesson!


The beautiful thing about teaching yoga is that it’s a lifelong learning experience, and I’m thrilled to be starting this journey!

3 thoughts on “Let Your Inner Light Shine”

  1. Hi Kate, what an inspirational post about the external and internal benefits of yoga! Most times I would think about the niyamas of self discipline but often forget the yamas of my behaviors and impact on this world. Glad I found your post that gives me a new insight on yoga training 🙂 – Lena

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s